Printer-friendly version

READER’S DIGEST UK MAGAZINE SPECIFICATIONS

UPDATED 03-2016

 

Introduction

The following describes the specifications required for advertising materials destined

to be printed in the Reader's Digest Magazine.

 

These specifications are aimed at meeting needs and ensuring that material is delivered in

a stable and predictable format, thus ensuring integrity of the information.

 

The following pages are acceptable for advertisement pages.

 

Digital file requirements

All PDF files must be submitted with the PDF/x-1a:2001 setting

Overprint settings should be set correctly in the source application

A PDF file should not contain annotations that are set to print

No object within a PDF should be transparent

A PDF file should not be created with Adobe PDF Writer products

All files should be set up as composite CMYK

Files must be flight checked prior to submission

 

NO FILES CAN BE SUPPLIED AT APPLICATION LEVEL. This is due to font legality issues,

type reflows and application versions which can all lead to unpredictable results.

 

Media can be supplied via specle or adstream.
Alternatively, email copy to the following: production@readersdigest.co.uk

 

Proofs - Please note that ICC profiles are available upon request.

 

If materials do not meet our specifications, new data will be required or the advertisement
will run at the risk of the agency/advertiser.

 

If you have any queries regarding the above,
please contact our production team: production@readersdigest.co.uk

Reader's Digest Magazine Specifications

 

  • Please can you ensure text is at least 11mm from the trim
  • If the advertisement has a coupon, please allow 11mm from the bottom trim marks.
  • Please ensure that there is 3mm bleed all the way around.
  • Please ensure that the trim marks do not sit within the ad itself - when creating the PDF make sure the
    trim mark offset settings are correct.

 

PAGE DOUBLE PAGE SPREAD
Bleed 190mm x 140mm Bleed 190mm x 274mm
Trim 184mm x 134mm Trim 184mm x 268mm
Type Area 162mm x 112mm Type Area 162mm x 246mm

 

HALF PAGE ( HORIZONTAL ) HALF PAGE ( VERTICAL )
Bleed 94mm x 140mm Bleed 190mm x 73mm
Trim 91mm x 134mm Trim 184mm x 67mm
Type Area 69mm x 112mm Type Area 162mm x 45mm

 

BOUND IN ORDER CARD BOUND IN ORDER CARD WITH FLAP
Bleed 190mm x 140mm Bleed 190mm x 135mm
Trim 184mm x 134mm Trim 184mm x 129mm
Type Area 171mm x 123mm Type Area 171mm x 118mm

 

HALF PAGE BOUND IN ORDER CARD COVERS ( NO FLAPS )
Bleed 190mm x 130mm Bleed 190mm x 140mm
Trim 184mm x 124mm Trim 184mm x 134mm
Type Area 171mm x 114mm Type Area 162mm x 112mm

 

COVER WITH FLAPS FLAP
Bleed 190mm x 137mm Bleed 190mm x 71mm
Trim 184mm x 131mm Trim 184mm x 68mm
Type Area 171mm x 121mm Type Area 171mm x 58mm

 

PLEASE SEND MATERIALS TO: ATTN: PRODUCTION
        READER'S DIGEST      
        HIGHLIGHT HOUSE, 57 MARGARET STREET      
        LONDON W1W 8SJ      

 

 

READER'S DIGEST DIGITAL / ONLINE ADVERTISING SIZES

 

 

 

READER’S DIGEST PRODUCTION SCHEDULE

2017

   Final sign-off
for advertorials
/partners
 Advertising
Copy Deadline
Insert Delivery
Deadline
ON-SALE DATE
Jan 17 Tues 22 Nov (2016) Tues 29 Nov (2016) Fri 09 Dec (2016) Tues 20 Dec (2016)
Feb 17 Tues 22 Dec (2016) Tues 03 Jan Fri 13 Jan Tues 24 Jan
Mar 17 Tues 24 Jan Tues 31 Jan Fri 10 Feb Tues 21 Feb
Apr 17 Tues 22 Feb Tues 28 Feb Fri 10 Mar Tues 21 Mar
May 17 Tues 21 Mar Tues 28 Mar Fri 07 Apr Tues 25 Apr
Jun 17 Tues 25 Apr Tues 02 May Fri 12 May Tues 23 May
Jul 17 Tues 30 May Tues 06 Jun Fri 15 Jun Tues 25 Jun
Aug 17 Tues 28 Jun Tues 04 Jul Fri 14 Jul Tues 25 Jul
Sep 17 Tues 24 July Tues 01 Aug Fri 11 Aug Tues 22 Aug
Oct 17 Tues 22 Aug Tues 29 Aug Fri 08 Sep Tues 26 Sep
Nov 17 Tues 29 Sept Tues 26 Sep Fri 06 Oct Tues 24 Oct
Dec 17 Tues 24 Oct Tues 31 Oct Fri 10 Nov Tues 21 Nov
Jan 18 Tues 21 Nov Tues 28 Nov Fri 08 Dec Tues 19 Dec